Food

QSR Kitchen Brands

QSR kitchen franchises in South Africa run on set systems, strict recipes and coordinated shifts. Compare how their models work before you commit to a brand family.

What a QSR kitchen franchise involves

A QSR kitchen franchise usually runs from a small footprint in a shopping centre, fuel station, or mixed-use area. The head office sets menu items, recipes and portion controls. Many locations are optimised for quick eat-in, takeaway and delivery, with integrated delivery app systems now standard. Most sites in Gauteng, Cape Town, Durban or Gqeberha use open-plan kitchens visible to customers, but some food court and drive-thru models keep prep space behind the scenes.

Staffing typically means 6 to 14 employees per shift, including line cooks, cashiers and a shift manager. Rosters follow peak meal periods and often demand split shifts or weekend coverage. Stock is supplied by approved partners, with routine checks on shelf life and traceability. Owners must keep strict hygiene and meet municipal requirements for a Certificate of Acceptability, and if you want to sell alcohol you’ll need to apply for a provincial liquor licence separately.

Points to compare between brands

Compare the upfront joining fee, ongoing royalty and national marketing contribution. Training periods, initial stock packs, and fit-out costs can differ widely. Some brands require a higher working capital float or set minimum spend on local store marketing. Check whether equipment like extraction, backup power or point of sale is included in start-up estimates.

Territory protection, length of franchise term and renewal rights are spelled out in the agreement. Support levels in opening month and ongoing vary: some offer full site visits and menu refreshes, others are mostly remote. See what systems they use for delivery integration, staff rosters and compliance reporting. If you want to adjust menu items or buy from local stock partners, check if the brand allows this or enforces strict national supply.

  • Upfront and ongoing fees
  • Training and support provided
  • Stock partner terms and menu flexibility
  • Territory size and protection
  • Equipment and fit-out inclusions
  • Renewal and exit terms

Watch for these disclosure red flags

By law, franchisors must provide a complete and signed disclosure document 14 days before any agreement is signed. The disclosure document must give a list of all current franchisees with their contact details, show the number of outlets, set out growth in turnover, net profit and outlet numbers for the previous financial year, include a solvency statement, provide financial statements and a certificate from an auditor or accounting officer, and present an organogram of the support system. If any of these are missing, vague or delayed, treat it as a warning.

Watch for written projections based on old or imported data, or where the assumptions arent explained. Check for any recent disputes, terminations or lawsuits not disclosed. If a franchise agreement does not state your right to cancel without cost within 10 business days after signing, clearly on the first page, it is not compliant with the Consumer Protection Act.

What to send us for a fit check

Tell us your preferred area, your available capital (both upfront and working capital), and what hours you want to work. If you have a specific shopping centre or site in mind, mention that too. We’ll check your fit using our Fit Finder and send capital and territory notes from our Numbers & Notes pack.

Share a summary or the main terms from your draft disclosure or franchise contract with Ms Siphokazi Mbanjwa. We dont need to see confidential commercial terms, but the outline helps us spot any gaps in compliance or risk.

What our Franchise Advisory customers say

Verified Google reviews

Ask us about QSR kitchens

Tell Siphokazi your target city, capital range and the hours you want to work. We’ll help you check the fit, fees and support style for QSR brands in your area.